Compared · Docs & writing
Best MCP servers for Docs & writing
5 entries in the AgentTask Atlas catalog fit docs & writing. They are not ranked by a score: the table lists active entries first, then by how many clients document a setup, and each row ends with our one-line verdict on when to pick it. Official sources last checked 2026-10-17.
- No credentials needed: doc-coauthoring, pdf, skill-creator
- Offers a hosted/remote option: Atlassian Rovo MCP Server
- Most documented clients: Claude Code (4), Claude.ai (3), Claude API (3), Claude Desktop (2), GitHub Copilot (2), Cursor (2).
| Name | Type | Credentials | License | Clients | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Atlassian Rovo MCP Server Atlassian | MCP server | Required | Apache-2.0 | 7 | Pick it when the agent must read or update Jira issues, Confluence pages or Bitbucket repos; the README recommends the v2 endpoint for new setups. |
| Notion MCP Server Notion | MCP server | Required | MIT | 4 | Pick it to read/write Notion specs; it only sees pages shared with the integration. |
| doc-coauthoring Anthropic | Agent Skill | None | not stated | 3 | Pick it to co-write specs or docs; instructions only, edits the documents you provide. |
| pdf Anthropic | Agent Skill | None | not stated | 3 | Pick it to read, fill or generate PDFs; runs local Python scripts on your files. |
| skill-creator Anthropic | Agent Skill | None | not stated | 3 | Pick it to write a new Agent Skill; it creates skill files in your project. |
Install notes
- Atlassian Rovo MCP Server
- Cloud-hosted: point your client at `https://mcp.atlassian.com/v2/mcp` (Claude Code: `claude mcp add --transport http atlassian https://mcp.atlassian.com/v2/mcp`); see README for other clients. official docs ↗Credentials: Atlassian Cloud account via OAuth 2.1, or a scoped API token (an org admin must enable API-token auth; Jira Service Management tools are API-token only). · Maintenance: No GitHub release; last commit 2026-10-07
- Notion MCP Server
- `npx -y @notionhq/notion-mcp-server` with NOTION_TOKEN (see README; hosted option documented there). official docs ↗Credentials: Notion integration token (NOTION_TOKEN) for local; OAuth for Notion's hosted MCP. · Maintenance: Release v2.1.0 on 2026-01-31; last commit 2026-09-20
- doc-coauthoring
- Claude Code: `/plugin marketplace add anthropics/skills`, then install example-skills. official docs ↗Credentials: None · Maintenance: No GitHub release; last commit 2025-12-04 (path-scoped)
- Claude Code: `/plugin install document-skills@anthropic-agent-skills` (see repo README). official docs ↗Credentials: None · Maintenance: No GitHub release; last commit 2026-02-06 (path-scoped)
- skill-creator
- Claude Code: `/plugin marketplace add anthropics/skills`, then install example-skills. official docs ↗Credentials: None · Maintenance: No GitHub release; last commit 2026-04-20 (path-scoped)
Set up any of these in your client: Claude Code · Cursor · VS Code · Claude Desktop. Filter interactively on the Docs & writing explorer, or ask the catalog from your agent with the free MCP server.
Other comparisons: Databases & SQL · Infra & deploy · Debugging & observability · Library docs & research · Frontend & UI
⚠ No independent security audit: entries summarize official sources only. Review permissions and code before installing.